Share, , , Google Plus, Reddit, Pinterest, StumbleUpon

Print

Posted in:

Petition: Parking Rate Protest

A petition has been posted to Change.org, that asks people to oppose an effort by City Hall to pass new legislation that would double the rates of hourly parking in Buffalo, extend the amount of time that meters would be required, while eradicating free parking on Saturdays. The announcement by the City has people up in arms. Just as Buffalo is rebounding, the powers that be come up with this ludicrous idea?

The City says that it is attempting to free up more street parking, while encouraging downtown visitors and workers to park in parking ramps.

Already, the petition has garnered 12,331 signatures.

“New legislation has passed that not only doubled the hourly cost of parking in Buffalo but extended the pay period by 6 hours each day, as well as taking away free parking on Saturdays.  The intention is to force downtown workers to park in expensive, privately owned lots and ramps, with the idea that more consumers would be able to find street parking during the day. This not only forces everyone parking in the city to pay astronomical rates simply to be at work, but it also is a huge matter of public safety and discourages economic growth of the businesses downtown.” –  Reba Allen, who started the petition, and addressed it to Darius G. Pridgen (Common Counsel President), and Kevin Helfer (Commissioner of Parking)

View the petition

Also contact:

Darius G. Pridgen

mailto:dpridgen@city-buffalo.com (716) 851 – 4980

David A. Rivera

mailto:darivera@city-buffalo.com (716) 851 – 5125

Christopher P. Scanlon

mailto:cscanlon@city-buffalo.com (716) 851 – 5169

Joel P. Feroleto

mailto:jferoleto@city-buffalo.com (716) 851 – 5155

Richard A. Fontana

mailto:rfontana@city-buffalo.com (716) 851 – 5151

David A. Franczyk

mailto:dfranczyk@city-buffalo.com (716) 851 – 4138

Joseph Golombek, Jr.

mailto:jgolombek@city-buffalo.com (716) 851 – 5116

Ulysees O. Wingo, Sr.

mailto:uwingo@city-buffalo.com (716) 851 – 5145

Rasheed N.C. Wyatt

mailto:rwyatt@city-buffalo.com (716) 851 – 5165

Lead image: From the petition – an image that is actually from a Buffalo Rising post about parking in Buffalo

Written by Buffalo Rising

Buffalo Rising

Sometimes the authors at Buffalo Rising work on collaborative efforts in order to cover various events and stories. These posts can not be attributed to one single author, as it is a combined effort. Often times a formation of a post gets started by one writer and passed along to one or more writers before completion. At times there are author attributions at the end of one of these posts. Other times, “Buffalo Rising” is simply offered up as the creator of the article. In either case, the writing is original to Buffalo Rising.

View All Articles by Buffalo Rising
Hide Comments
Show Comments