Demolition of approximately two-thirds of the former Fallside Hotel located at 4th Street and Buffalo Avenue is on schedule to begin in next couple of weeks. Crews just finished installing the perimeter security fence around the 3.8 acre property slated to become a 183-room Doubletree by Hilton Hotel. Since closing in 2009, the property has been a symbol of decline in the heart of Niagara’s Buffalo Avenue Heritage District.
Plans by Canadian developer Faisal Merani call for demolition of the section of the building adjacent to the Robert Moses Parkway and the construction of a 8-story tower flanked by two 4-story wings connected to the existing structure to be refurbished. The project is estimated to cost approximately $20 million dollars and take several years to complete. Among its financing, the property received a unique tax break package from the Niagara County IDA in 2009, a $750,000 grant from USA Niagara Development Corp, and a $2 million loan from the Upstate Regional Blueprint Fund. This project is among several under development on Buffalo Avenue in Downtown Niagara Falls. Upon completion of the RMP South Reconfiguration, the 4th Street entrance from the Robert Moses Parkway is expected to become more pedestrian and cyclist friendly key entry point into the Downtown tourism district and to the Seneca Niagara Casino.
Random Niagara Falls, NY Fact
The Fallside Hotel currently sits on former front lawn of the Natural Food Conservatory (later known as the Shredded Wheat Company). In 1901 Henry Perky founded the Natural Food Conservatory and commissioned the Olmsted Brothers to design the grounds of the factory featuring landscaped paths, winding drives, a playground, a tennis court, a ball diamond and plots for employee gardens. This consideration for employee well-being and the natural environment was monumental at the time. Click HERE to read more about the Natural Food Conservatory & its imprint on Niagara Falls.